Octopath Traveler crowned Nintendo game of the year at the Golden Joystick Awards


At the end of 2018, the awards show begins. Pending the count of votes at the Game Awards, UK, Square Enix Octopath traveler was named “Nintendo Game of the Year” at the 2018 Golden Joystick Awards.

The London-based awards ceremony spanned 23 different categories, with the majority of votes cast by the global gaming audience. Most of the other categories were for games exclusive to other platforms, but a few titles that also call Switch home were mentioned.

Dead cells by Motion Twin won the ‘Best Indie Game’ category and Epic’s Fortnite won the “Ultimate Game of the Year” and “Best Competitive Game” awards on the side. In terms of Nintendo’s market competitors, the best PlayStation game was God of the war and Forza Horizon 4 won the Xbox category. Capcom Monster Hunter: World was recognized as the “Best Cooperative Game” and Dark souls creator Hidetaka Miyazaki received a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Golden Joystick Awards began in 1983 and have since grown into the world’s largest publicly voted gaming awards brand. You can watch a replay on on Twitch and check out the full list of winners below:

  • Best Storytelling: God of War
  • Best Competitive Game: Fortnite Battle Royale
  • Best Co-op Game: Monster Hunter: World
  • Best Visual Design: God of War
  • Best Indie Game: Dead Cells
  • Best Audio: God of War
  • Still Playing Award: World of Tanks
  • Best Performer: Bryan Dechart, Detroit: Become Human
  • Esports Game of the Year: Overwatch
  • Best VR Game: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim VR
  • Studio of the Year: SIE Santa Monica Studio
  • Best New Streamer / Broadcaster: Bryan Dechart & Amelia Rose Blaire
  • Mobile Game of the Year: PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Mobile
  • PC Game of the Year: Subnautica
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: God of War
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Forza Horizon 4
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: Octopath Traveler
  • Breakthrough Award: Unknown Worlds
  • Most Wanted Game: Cyberpunk 2077
  • Critics’ Choice Award: Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Hidetaka Miyazaki
  • Outstanding Contribution: Xbox Adaptive Controller
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: Fortnite Battle Royale

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.